Quake

A long time ago in a galaxy far far away I dedicated (squandered?) a couple of years of my life to a game called Quake. I learned a few things about myself, and a lot about networking, but mostly I had a metric shitload of fun.

The first “con” I ever attended was the Manhattan Memorial Day Marathon in May of 1997. I was 19 years old. I remember watching Honus rocket-jump all over DM6. I couldn’t believe people could actually get so good at a game. I was hooked. I attended a bunch of cons over the next two years, until the “net quake” scene sort of died out. I got pretty good. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever been better at anything in my entire life.

In the spirit of nostalga, I dug out some old screen shots and demos.

I miss the old days.

1 Response to “Quake”


  1. 1 Ed "Voltas" Wist April 22, 2010 at 1:27 am

    Hay Mark, I went to M3 and yah those where the good old days. I noticed on your post that you had dug up some old M3 demos. I”m looking for the one made by the KeyGrip guys. I found one on YouTube but the sound got cut out because of that darn AIM crap. Anyway, if you could forward me those demos that would rock.

    Oh and you wouldn’t happen to be the kid I let play on my system while I slept and I had to peel you off my keyboard in the morning because you fell asleep on it?


Comments are currently closed.