100 Gallons of Milk

Starting Strength, 2nd Edition

For the last 16 weeks, I’ve consumed one gallon of whole milk each day† almost without fail. My monthly milk budget was more than most people’s car payment (hint: my yuppie ass pays Whole Foods $12.99/gal for the raw stuff). I’ve squatted three times a week, in addition to performing deadlifts, bench presses, overhead presses and power cleans. Most people would call this crazy, but Mark Rippetoe calls it Starting Strength. It works amazingly well.

I gained 40 lbs and put 40% on my back squat. As a nice capstone, I pulled a 182 kg deadlift today — breaking 400 lbs for the first time ever. More details over at the CrossFit Eastside blog.

Big props to my coach Michael Street, without whom I surely could not have done this.

† And to think — at the outset of this journey I actually believed I was lactose intolerant. Ha.

Update 1/11/2010: Crossfit.com did an interview with a bunch of us milk-and-squats types: Reflections on a GOMAD diet.

7 Responses to “100 Gallons of Milk”


  1. 1 Alkivar January 16, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    holy crap he’s back from the dead 😀

    good for you dude… you should post before and after pics.

  2. 2 JaredPar January 19, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Did all that milk drinking keep you from blogging and tweeting???

  3. 3 Mark January 19, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Essentially, yes. I’ve sorta lost interest in blogging these days.

  4. 4 John Knox January 19, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Holy smokes! That is quite an improvement. Is there something special about the Whole Foods milk, or are you just picky?

  5. 5 Mark January 19, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    It’s raw (unpasteurized). It’s also delicious.

  6. 6 Alkivar January 21, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Mark… here’s a new milestone to try for:

    http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=550_1232315010

    this black guy is hardcore ripped…

  7. 7 Mark January 22, 2009 at 3:49 am

    Oh nice those are gymnastics moves. Front lever, back lever, and the flag.
    http://www.beastskills.com/FrontLever.htm
    http://www.beastskills.com/Back%20lever.htm
    http://www.beastskills.com/Flag.htm

    I’d love to learn those once my strength to weight ratio gets back to something reasonable 🙂


Comments are currently closed.




