Google Reader Chokes on Google Groups RSS

I’m a member of a Google Group. I’d like to get group updates as RSS, not in my email, because email sucks. Google Groups helpfully provides XML feeds in both RSS 2.0 and Atom 1.0 formats.

Google Reader refuses to eat either of these.

An error has occurred because the feed being requested cannot be found.

Am I the only one with this problem? Impossible.

  1. Can we please introduce someone on the Groups team to someone on the Reader team?
  2. When Reader chokes on a feed URL, can I get a big red button that says “REPORT THIS”?

PS: Perhaps this problem has to do with Reader’s lack of support for authenticated RSS feeds. In that case a better error message is needed.

6 Responses to “Google Reader Chokes on Google Groups RSS”


  1. 1 Bheeshmar October 12, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    FWIW, I couldn’t subscribe to a Google Group using Chrome: It gave me an error message about requiring IE or Firefox. :)

  2. 2 tom November 5, 2008 at 8:04 am

    Nope.. i cant get it to work either

  3. 3 Jonas November 6, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Remove the “?msgs=….” at the end of the feed URL — seems to work for me.

  4. 4 Mark November 6, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Hmm, the feed I want to subscribe to doesn’t even have the “?msgs=” parameter in any of its URLs. Some of mine have a “?num=” parameter, but others omit this parameter and are otherwise exactly the same. None of them work.

    I still suspect some kind of authentication issue. I think I had to join this Google Group, furthermore that someone had to approve me. It would be odd to have wide-open RSS feeds for that kind of group.

  5. 5 Trev January 6, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Hi, Any luck with this problem? I have one feed from a google group working fine, but I cannot add another one. I get an “Oops an error ocurred, please try again in a few seconds…” message at the top as well as the following displayed “The feed being requested cannot be found.” when trying to add my feed.

    If I load the RSS URL in IE, the feed looks fine.

  6. 6 Trev January 6, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    I found that if I enabled unrestricted access to the group (Access / Who can view / Anyone) then subscribed to the feed it worked fine. I then restricted access to members again, but I can still subscribe to the feed (after unsubscribing). The only difference appears to be that the title is missing. I have not had any updates since, but I will let you know if I have any further problems.


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

