Windows Wireless Zero Configuration Sucks

God I hate WZC on WinXP. Why does it make me type my WPA key twice? Why doesn’t it provide a way to turn on the damn echo, so I can see what I am typing. Yes I know it’s a password but after I type it for the 10th god damned time I don’t care anymore.

Oh, and for the love of god, why do you show 8 “circles” in the pre-filled password dialog regardless of how long my pass-phrase actually is? This does not inspire confidence.

Objects in dialog may be larger than they appear.

Apple’s Wifi config is seriously better. (Not that it needs to be… Their supplicant actually works.)

5 Responses to “Windows Wireless Zero Configuration Sucks”


  1. 1 alkivar September 30, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    I was with you right up until you said Apple’s was better… WEP/WPA1 implementation is ok, but WPA2 is severely broken.

    I’ve taken my work MBP to several sites, and any site with WPA2 I test… i’ve been able to connect to barely 1/3 of sites due to weird features enabled by the router that the Apple simply does not support.

    We’re not talking random elcheapo asian product, we’re talking Cisco, Juniper, Proxim, Linksys, Netgear, D-Link, the Motorola I have at home. Oh and Radius support is 100% fucked in my experience.

    So i’ll have to go ahead and disagree with you bro 🙂

  2. 2 Mark September 30, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Sounds like you have experience with more access points than I. Maybe I’ve just been lucky with my Macs.

    I still hate the WinXP wireless UI tho 🙂

  3. 3 Baylink May 27, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    In fact, there’s a good reason for the “8 circles” thing: it provides shoulder surfers a bit (heh) less information to feed to their password cracker…

  4. 4 Mark May 27, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Ahh the eternal battle between security and usability.


Comments are currently closed.




