Outlook 2007 Instant Search

Outlook 2007’s instant search is just awful. It rarely shows me the results I want — I have to hunt them down manually. It’s like web search circa 1995.

Apparently others share my opinion.

4 Responses to “Outlook 2007 Instant Search”


  1. 1 Azeem Jiva September 23, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    If you install Windows Search 4.0 and set it to search your email then Outlook search is really good. Much better than the standard Outlook search.

  2. 2 Mark September 23, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Hmm I’ll have to give that a shot, thanks Azeem. I’m currently rebuilding my index with fingers crossed.

  3. 3 Mark September 24, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Apparently I already had Windows Search 4.0. Maybe it’s part of Vista or Vista SP1 or something.

    Regardless, my problem went away after I did Control Panel -> Indexing Options -> Advanced -> Rebuild.

  4. 4 Greg June 13, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Yeah, Outlook Search is not really powerful…
    I changed to Lookeen, this is a great Oulook Search-tool.
    Very fast and more functional than Instant Search.

    Try this tool under http://www.lookeen.net


Comments are currently closed.




