BPA = Be Paranoid, Always

Kleen Kanteen

I drink a lot of water at work — probably a liter a day. For years each gulp has been powered by Nalgene, but no longer.

You see, I’m paranoid about the health effects of BPA, and I’m not alone. Just last week REI put all the classic BPA-ridden Nalgenes on clearance, and now they are entirely gone. The remaining bottles wear their “BPA Free” stickers proudly.

Of course, I still need to guzzle H2O. Perhaps a SIGG like my wife has? Hmm, no. I’m on a fear-kick here and 4 out of 5 nutjobs agree that aluminum is a first-class ticket to Alzheimer’s.

No, the object of my desire is made of 18/8 stainless. It has simple classic lines, and an earth-friendly logo. It has a name with a lot of K’s in it. That’s right, my new sidekick is a Klean Kanteen. Without a doubt, the coolest, no-harmful-side-effect-having bottle ever.

See you at the water cooler.

Update 4/28/2008:
Nalgene to Phase Out Production of Consumer Bottles Containing BPA. Of course, this was done in response to the demands of Nalgene’s idiot customers, not because BPA is actually dangerous:

Based on all available scientific evidence, we continue to believe that Nalgene products containing BPA are safe for their intended use. However, our customers indicated they preferred BPA-free alternatives and we acted in response to those concerns.

In summary, BPA will remain safe until we unload our inventory. That is all.

2 Responses to “BPA = Be Paranoid, Always”


  1. 1 Jared Parsons May 17, 2008 at 10:15 am

    I won’t use Nalgene bottles for an entirely different reason: stupid advertising.

    Here’s a little expirement. Walk into your local outdoor shop, stand next to rack of Nalgene bottles and wait. You may have to feign interest but not always. In less than 5 minutes you will be asaulted by either a store employee or another happy customer. They will regail you with stories of how strong the bottle is. Inevitably you will hear how the bottle can be run over by a car and won’t break!!!

    Now the twist. Ask them “Is it dishwasher safe?” Satisfied customers will dodge the question and continue to talk about how much they love the bottle. Employees will immediately start talking about sensitive coating or the like.

    Why do people constantly whip out the car argument when the dish washer is the mortal enemy of the bottle? I just can’t stand that.

    I realize some of the newer models are or claim to be dishwasher safe but the bitter memories still sit with me.

  2. 2 Mark May 17, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Never had that experience, but — damn, that does sound annoying.

    I think my new stainless bottle is DW safe.


Comments are currently closed.




