My ANSI Art Days

Back in the BBS era I used to pretend to be an ANSI artist. Today’s Metafilter post led me to discover Sixteen Colors where, lo and behold, I found my old work:

The first one is a collaboration with my cousin Andy, who did the fonts. The last three are entirely mine. All of them are, of course, ripoffs from Image Comics. Amazing that this stuff has managed to survive since 1995.

(Many thanks to Doug Moore and Sixteen Colors for preserving this stuff.)

6 Responses to “My ANSI Art Days”


  1. 1 Doug Moore February 19, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Glad I could help. đŸ™‚

    -lordscarlet

  2. 2 Mark February 19, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I loved BBSing, but, damn, the internet is awesome! Thanks again Doug!

  3. 3 Azeem Jiva February 20, 2008 at 5:58 am

    There are some BBS that you can telnet into, and even some that you can access over http. Its great, you can play old DOOR games like Trade Wars and Pit. đŸ™‚

  4. 4 Alkivar February 20, 2008 at 11:46 am

    LOL I didnt remember you doing ANSI back in the day Mark… glad LS could hook you up with copies of your old shit. You should check out the acid archive dvd, theres some great shit on there.

  5. 5 Mark February 20, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    This was long before RIT. And, yes, the ACiD stuff was always amazing.

  6. 6 eric March 5, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    whoa man, that is badass. i am very impressed!


Comments are currently closed.




