Focus Stealing

There’s been some talk lately about GUI focus-stealing:

I have definitely been bitten by the focus-stealing pop up. Once I unintentionally rebooted my PC (during the early days of Windows Automatic Updates). I was mad as hell. Another time I accidentally typed part of my password into an instant-message window and sent it. GRR.

I think the Firefox team has done great work in this area, and I’m surprised nobody has mentioned it so far. Here’s a screen shot:

Firefox's addon installation dialog with countdown

See the install button? There is a “3…2…1” countdown before it gets focus. Brilliant.

Please people, I implore you: steal this idea.

3 Responses to “Focus Stealing”


  1. 1 Azeem Jiva December 7, 2007 at 11:38 am

    And you are using Adblock Plus! I haven’t seen ads in forever 🙂

  2. 2 Mark December 7, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    Actually Azeem, that was just the first link I saw at mozilla.org. I actually don’t mind ads too much 🙂

  3. 3 Alkivar December 9, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    There is an add-on you can install that lets you change that focus timer length as well. I don’t remember what its called because I don’t mind waiting 3 seconds.


Comments are currently closed.




