MagUnsafe

The magic smoke came out of my MacBook’s power connector about 10 minutes ago. I’m surprised it broke so quickly. I just got my Mac in November.

broken Apple MagSafe connector

Apparently, this happens to a lot of people. Take a look at the comments at the Apple Store.

Update: Just got back from the Bellevue Apple Store where I got a free replacement. Apparently this is covered under AppleCare so long as the damage is from normal use. In other words: if your gerbil gnaws through your cable, you’re on your own.

4 Responses to “MagUnsafe”


  1. 1 Paul May 26, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for Apple which like Sony has a very good eye for design and innovation.

    I gave up carrying laptops years ago because of the “I don’t need another 15 pounds on my shoulder in an airport” rationale. The service life of iPods, Portable PCs and Playstations is measured in months (at least in my kids hands). I’ve found it is a lot easer to move data and music over a VPN. Now I have yet another excuse not to buy a laptop – flaming power bricks.

    Well I did check out your reference to the Apple Store Blog. Wow, that’s really bad news. But like I said, I still like their designs and innovation.

  2. 2 Rob May 27, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Crappy. Now I have to unplug my macbook when I leave the house since it might burn my house down. This looks like a candidate for a free redesigned replacement from Apple.

  3. 3 Jamez January 26, 2008 at 12:41 am

    The same thing happened to me, but a week after the apple care ran out!!!

  4. 4 Alkivar January 29, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Yeah this is more common than I thought… now that i’m working for an apple certified repair center, i’m amazed at how much shit on these things breaks.

    I’ve replaced 12 batteries this week, 7 power supplies, fans in 7 iMacs (mostly G5s) and the entire freaking enclosure on a G5 Power Mac because the fans wouldnt spin down to idle…

    Replaced the entire enclosure because apparently you cant order the fan for the hard drive bay without replacing the entire freaking case… how stupid is that?

    Apple bringing “form before function” to your everyday life.


Comments are currently closed.




