Firefox Uses 100% CPU on OSX

When I leave Google Reader running for a while, Firefox eventually enters some kind of crazy Javascript spin loop which eats 100% of one core until I kill the tab. This is an Intel-based OSX machine, and Firefox 2.0.0.1.

Has anyone else experienced this? Is there a solution?

Update: It seems like Google Toolbar might be the cuplrit. See this bug report for details. I’ll disable the toolbar and see how things go.

Update 2: Well that wasn’t it. I’m running no plugins at all now, and the problem persists. There must be some kind of bug in the Javascript interpreter.

1 Response to “Firefox Uses 100% CPU on OSX”


  1. 1 Peter Booth February 9, 2007 at 6:03 am

    I see this behavior on my iMac and my MacBook Pro. Very frustrating. I also find it difficult to kill the process, sometimes Force Quit and kill-9 don’t kill the firefox process.


Comments are currently closed.




