Leaky Caps

Perhaps I’m tempting fate here, but I’m about ready to declare victory.

I have finally gotten to the root of a problem with one of my linux boxes (this very web server, actually). The machine had become increasingly unstable over the last 6 months, and unfortunately this was coincident with the addition of some new hardware and umpteen software changes, which effectively obscured the real culprit: leaky capacitors.

leaking capacitors

It appears that I am not the only person to have problems with leaky capacitors on this exact motherboard. The good news is that I’m now up and running on new hardware, and things are looking good.

This will be the third motherboard I’ve had in this system. The first one caught on freakin’ fire.

Some guys have all the luck.

