New Things I am Giving a Shot

It’s taken me something like 20 years to figure out that I learn best by experience. Here’s a list of ways I’ve thrown my world into upheaval recently.

Update:
It’s been a few weeks, so a follow up is warranted.

  • I can’t say much about Gnome. I guess it’s OK. I miss the Kclip clipboard utility from KDE.
  • Black-on-white terminals have been fine, except for some apps with bad default color schemes. Yellow-on-white, for example, is terrible.
  • The Opera transition was easy. I miss many Firefox extensions, but there are lots of nice features to ease my pain: a newsreader, bittorrent client, spell checker, mouse gestures, etc. It’s also fast as hell. On the negative side, there were a few crashes, some weirdness in Google Reader, and a flash plug-in problem that broke YouTube.
  • Switching to Xemacs was really hard. I’m going to keep trying, but I don’t have much hope.
