Vista WiFi is Buggy

Every so often Vista decides that I have “Local Connectivity Only”, which is a very odd way of describing the situation where DHCP can assign me an IP address, but I can’t even ping my gateway.

It eventually just starts working.

Update:
Problem solved! I discovered that the problem correlated very highly with unplugging my laptop from the power outlet. It looks like Vista’s default power saving policy goes a little too far. In the advanced power settings menu I have now selected “low” power saving for my WiFi device, rather than the overzealous “medium”.

2 Responses to “Vista WiFi is Buggy”


  1. 1 Gulli June 16, 2006 at 3:35 pm

    Does that IP address start with 169.254.? Then DHCP didn’t really assign you an IP address; see this explanation (if you can stand the font 🙂 )

  2. 2 Mark June 17, 2006 at 7:29 pm

    Gulli,

    No it’s actually getting an RFC 1918 address (192.168.x.x) from my DHCP server. I can even see it in the log files. I can’t explain it.


Comments are currently closed.




