s/major label/internet/g

I fantasize that, once upon a time, publishers helped to find talented musicians, distribute their art, and get them paid. These days, they manufacture marketable acts, engage in rampant payola to get air play, and then screw the artists out of every penny.

Now they’re installing viruses on your computer and calling it DRM.

I guess this is what happens when the Internet obsoletes you.

3 Responses to “s/major label/internet/g”


  1. 1 Kevin Frei November 1, 2005 at 8:37 am

    Holy crap, that Sony rootkit garbage is astounding. At least it won’t work on my Win64 boxes 🙂

    BTW – I paid an extra $8 for the Foo Fighters In Your Honour DVD/CD combo album, so I could actually rip to the format of my own choosing, instead of using whatever format the copy protection crap allows me to use. I wonder if it’s the same stuff…

  2. 3 Mark November 14, 2005 at 8:26 pm

    No I hadn’t. Good. I hope they get screwed. If I had any balls I’d take out a 2nd mortgage and short them.


Comments are currently closed.




