Apology

Today I was looking for information on GCC’s -static switch. Naturally, I Googled gcc -static.

The results were horrible.

I was shaken to the core. How could this be? Google is infallible. Google is the second coming of Christ. Google can borrow my car and go on romantic vacations with my wife. I trusted Google.

I was just about to go on a profanity-laced tirade, when I realized: Google has a special meaning for minus.

To Google, a minus prefix means “please only give me results that do not include this word”. Thus, I was actually asking for pages about “gcc” but not “static”. The query gcc "-static" was far more effective.

Please forgive me, Google. I’m sorry I ever doubted you.

BTW, Google has a nice cheat sheet to help prevent such mishaps.

