LM Sensors

I knew something was wrong with Turing, my Linux desktop, as soon as I walked into my office this afternoon. There was a new noise that I’d never heard before — a bad sign. With the exception of that time a capacitor exploded, every hardware failure I’ve ever had the pleasure of enduring has been perpetrated by something mechanical.

I was briefly worried that it was a hard disk, but the system was working fine, so I turned my attention to fans. I didn’t even have to open the box to know that it wasn’t a CPU fan. Thanks to LM Sensors, I could tell right away that both CPU fans were humming along at the proper RPM. It also showed me that the temperature of both processors was normal.

At this point, I was pretty sure it was one of my 3 case fans. If I was busy today, I could have just left the whole mess for later.

The LM Sensors project is pretty damn cool.

BTW, it was indeed a case fan, which I pulled out. I’m not even sure I’ll bother replacing it.

