Better Firefox Error Messages

I’ve been using Firefox for a while now, and one thing I’ve missed is Internet Explorer’s error messages. I’m a really bad typist, so I frequently type things like “www.google.co” without realizing it. With Firefox, you get a truly annoying popup that says something like, “Hey retard, you made a mistake.” To add insult to injury, the popup steals focus and requires me to click OK before I can correct the URL.

I Googled around for some kind of extension to fix this problem, and I discovered that support for “IE-style” error messages is actually built-in:

  1. Enter about:config in the location bar.
  2. Find browser.xul.error_pages.enabled.
  3. Change it to true (the default is false).
  4. Restart Firefox
5 Responses to “Better Firefox Error Messages”


  1. 1 Bheeshmar June 20, 2005 at 10:13 am

    To avoid your most common error try:
    google

    For .net end with
    For .org end with

  2. 2 Mark June 20, 2005 at 6:23 pm

    I’m not sure I understand. You’re just saying to leave off the TLD?

  3. 3 Bheeshmar June 21, 2005 at 6:11 am

    Grr. Stupid tag removing blogs…

    google + ctrl-enter = http://www.google.com
    google + shift-enter = http://www.google.net
    google + ctrl-shift-enter = http://www.google.org

    Use alt-d to get to the address bar and ctrl-t to create a new tab.

    So a typical session for me is:
    ctrl-t + alt-d + vim + ctrl-shift-enter

  4. 4 Mark June 21, 2005 at 6:50 pm

    Cool stuff, Bheesh. I’ll try it out.

    I generally use ctrl-l to get to the location bar sans mouse. I wonder if that would be slightly faster for you since you don’t seem to use alt for anything else?

  5. 5 Bheeshmar June 22, 2005 at 6:35 am

    Ah, didn’t know about ctrl-l. Thanks!


Comments are currently closed.




