Missed the boat?

I’m bitter.

When I was a kid, and people found out I was a computer whiz, they would say “you’re going to make a lot of money when you grow up”.

They were wrong.

By the time I showed up the party was over. If only I was born in ’73 instead of ’78, I’d be retired today. Oh well. Money isn’t everything… Right?

4 Responses to “Missed the boat?”


  1. 1 Larry Holmes April 12, 2005 at 7:17 pm

    I like soup!

  2. 2 Kevin Frei April 21, 2005 at 8:28 am

    I was born in ’74, and you’ll notice that I’m sitting down the hall from you, not at home playing with my kids. I think you had to be A) born in the 60’s [or before], and B) lucky enough to get a job with the right company (your current employer isn’t one of those companies). And before anyone feels too sorry for you, I’m certain that between your income, and your wife’s, you make more money than 99.9% of the population of the planet πŸ™‚

    And I like stew more than soup.

  3. 3 John May 5, 2006 at 10:11 am

    I hear you Mark, I’m in the same boat. Wait, I wonder what boat that is since we both missed the “Be a whiz and make some serious scratch boat”? I was born in ’79 and was told the exact same thing when people found out my ability. And kevin is right, you had to born in the 60’s or before and work for the right company.

    Money isn’t everything, but I’d sure rather be at home playing with my daugher, jamming on my Strats, or working on/drag racing my musclecar (69 Firebird). Hang in there man, when we’re old and spent, and the kids are moved out, we’ll finally get to retire and enjoy what’s left of our shit lives. πŸ™‚

    -John

  4. 4 Mark May 6, 2006 at 5:39 pm

    John,

    Haha… Thanks, that’s reassuring, I think πŸ™‚

    I’ve been thinking about this on and off now for years. I don’t really need, or want, to have a pile of money in the bank and no job. I know a few people like this, and everything is “risk” to them. There is nowhere to go but down.

    I think I’d rather just be self sufficient. In other words, it would be nice to own a business, or be otherwise self employed. I’d like the freedom to work when I needed money, and play when I didn’t.

    My best two leads are trading stocks, and software consulting. Unfortunately I have this huge problem: lack of ego. I’m so damn self-deprecating that I just can’t convince myself that I could ever beat the street, or to ever trump myself up as an expert of any kind.

    -Mark


Comments are currently closed.




