Taxes

Normally I handle my own taxes with Turbo Tax Online (which works great under Linux). This year, due to a marriage, home purchase, two company-subsidized relocations, a stock sale and an options exercise and sale, I decided to seek professional help. I will not be doing this again.

I’m being charged $525 for tax preparation. The person who did the work isn’t even a CPA.

The tax preparer even had the nerve to suggest that she had “saved” me money by finding out from me what my cost basis was for the stock sale. Apparently if you don’t know your cost basis, then Uncle Sam can assume you got it for free and tax you accordingly. Umm, yeah lady, I wouldn’t have made that mistake you dumbass.

2 Responses to “Taxes”


  1. 1 Dangle April 9, 2005 at 4:20 pm

    Skeet skeet skeet!

  2. 2 Evandro Menezes July 28, 2005 at 8:33 am

    Mark, I had some unusual events last year too, besides an options exercise, and Turbo Tax Online worked all right. Except that I had to upgrade to Premier for an additional $20 or so.

    Lo and behold, it calculated the cost basis fine… It even gave me advice on what to change the allowances to compensate for those unusual events. 😉


Comments are currently closed.




