Sirius TTR1 Sucks

All I wanted was to wake up to Howard Stern again. Alas, it was not to be. Sirius sucks. This TTR1 radio sucks. The combination is a whole new level of suck. This will be a rant in two parts.

Part 1: The hardware sucks

The TTR1 is apparently made by Audiovox, although this is not made apparent by the Sirius people. Probably because Audiovox is not exactly the first name in quality electronics.

You cannot operate this thing with one hand. It is not heavy enough to stay in place while you push the buttons on the front of it, so it slowly inches away from you as you attempt to use it, unless you hold it in place.

But really, my biggest complaint is that the power button does not work. Normally I might assume this was just a defective unit, and perhaps it is, but allow me to further explain. The power button actually does work with something like a 1% success rate. About 1 out of every 100 presses will actually affect the machine. These successes are not uniformly distributed. Indeed, the button may work with very good success for a time, and then become utterly useless for an even longer time. This is rather irritating.

Part 2: The service sucks

I took the reliability of terrestrial radio entirely for granted. It’s always there, even if the content is utter crap. Not so with Sirius, especially this internet-radio flavor.

Often, instead of being awoken by Howard as expected, I am awakened by the buzzer alarm. This is the failsafe, the fallback, when the TTR1 cannot successfully acquire the Sirius radio stream. What? There’s a backup plan?

(If I take a deep breath and really think about it, I am sort of amazed that the Audiovox people had to foresight to include this feature. It would have been more consistent with their craptastic design just to allow me to oversleep indefinintely. But I digress…)

The problem with Internet radio is reliability. Mark my words, if you could see Sirius’s traffic stats over time, they would have these giant network spikes every hour on the hour in the morning. They apparently do not have enough network resources to service that peak demand.

It is times like this when I really wish Apple could just make every-damn-thing.

5 Responses to “Sirius TTR1 Sucks”


  1. 1 chris h. April 18, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    The power button on my TTR1 works….but yesterday the radio lost its ability to connect wirelessly. (I’ve has the radio for about two months and it was working fine – then quit connecting wireless last Saturday, while musing was playing. It’s as if the wireless card in the radio jsut up and failed. Tried all the trouble shooting steps in the TTR1 manual – including a reset to “factory settings” (and then re-entering my XM username and password AND the SSID and WPA2 encryption key for my wireless router) – nothing worked. The good news is that I called the warranty number (1-800-869-5364) and they are supposedly sending me a new radio.

  2. 2 Kathie H January 4, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    I’m on my second Sirius TTR1 (1st one returned to Amazon-repurchased 2nd from Sirius). I have very high-speed internet plus Linksys E1200 wireless-N router which support two HD Tv’s and have no problems with radio connections. Sounds great connected to my Bose system, however, music is interrupted several times each hour in the middle of songs. I use this in my small beauty salon and it isn’t good advertising for Sirius, also, I’m tired of explaining the “unexplainable” interruptions. I’ve even wired it to my router with an ethernet cable and still had the same problem which means that the problem is with Sirius or a defect in radio. Sirius has a ” serious” problem with customer care, especially with trying to translate the heavy accents; it’s bad enough dealing with unfamiliar technology. Hopefully, if they ever get the problem figured out, there will be a way to download the upgrade (or whatever) to my radio.
    I guess I’ll just have to accept the fact that no noise is better than a commercial. Very annoying!

  3. 3 Lisa Eberhart January 27, 2012 at 2:32 am

    I have this radio, it worked fine for a very little time. I have had to call customer support, only to be transferred so many times, extremely long hold time and foreign countries, only to be told – can’t be fixed. There is no audio. It connects wirelessly – no problem, but then…no sound. I guess the technology is just not there yet. I am really disappointed. This radio is going back. WAY too many issues. Sirius is in need of an overhaul. i can see why it’s failing.

  4. 4 jim February 16, 2012 at 1:23 am

    i am currently on hold going on 20 minutes. i am an idiot for holding, but i’m so pissed i want to yell at someone. this is the worst of the worst service. the radio is going back, end of story, i’ve invested enough of my life in this piece of crap already. nice idea, but no sale.

  5. 5 Reggie April 24, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    TTR1 is terrible! Starts to play and will stop in 10 or so minuets and displays “connecting” and never does although router signal is full scale. Netflex plays 24/7 with no interruptions but this thing is terrible. A total waste of my time and money. Wish I had never seen the advertisement.


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

